Brown Turtle

Standard

I made this turtle in my very first ceramics class in college. I have never made a hollow construction before. I did not take ceramics in high school, so it was all new to me. I remember the way my hands cramped as I etched each scale and ring on his shell. I remember the wonder the first time I saw him after the firing. There is something magical about clay. Its forgiving nature when wet. Its versatility and strength. That class started a life long passion for ceramics in me. I would go on to take four more classes before graduating.

Leave a Reply

