Preping for art show

Standard

I have an art show in July. I have been looking at the art (mostly photography) that I have and deciding what pieces I want to include. I made a master list and used all the frames that I had lying about but I still needed quiet a few. So I broke the piggy bank and went to that very dangerous place called Hobby Lobby. In the span of two hours I had two pieces framed and picked out mats and frames for about 10 more. To the tune of almost two hundred dollars- yeah that one hurt a bit.

Don’t get me wrong the work looks great and has a much better chance of selling now that it is more attractive and protected but man its expensive to do this kind of stuff-I knew there was a reason I didn’t get my MFA. All the same there is that moment when you see a piece that was once nice, that is now glowing because of a good matt and frame that is hard to miss. My husband commented on how improved several of them are. I hope the show goes well. I would at least like to make my 200$ back and break even. So I’m going to be working the positive thinking until the show, I’ll let you know how it goes.

The theme of the show is mainly animal photography with a few paintings and drawings sprinkled in. I think this is one of the best shows that I have put together. This is my third. I have never shown at a proper gallery but I have sold quiet a few pieces. My husband wants me to sell my photos on-line but I’m just not there yet. I need to get the writing thing under my belt before I take on another cottage industry.

I am going to include some of my poems about totems in the show. I think they will be a nice complement to the images. I have several college pieces that I have to add a little to. I think I’ll get that wrapped up tomorrow. Then I have to photograph it all and make tags, price ect. I have to brush up my artist bio and write a blurb about the theme. All in all I have a few more days of little things but then it will be squared away so that I can enjoy my anniversary.

Here’s to creativity and making stuff.

Leave a Reply

