But the greatest of these is love

Standard

I made this painting for my husband when he was gone for a week early on in our relationship. We were engaged and the idea of him being gone was tragic. So I decided to make a painting that would express what it felt like to be loved by him.

In this work he is the burst of light and I am the bird suspended in its radiance. At the bottom of the canvas is written the scripture “Now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” I had never made a painting before for someone trusting only my own intuition and style.

I used oil paints for the background and then acrylic inks to do detail work and add a metallic sheen to different part of the painting. I hand drew the lettering and then inked it.

My husband loved it and to this day it hangs in his office.

Leave a Reply

