Sand Piper musings

Standard

I was sitting in my living room this morning, enjoying the quiet, smelling the coffee brewing; when I looked up and saw the wooden sand piper art piece that my husband and I go on vacation a year ago.

The sand piper has always been one of my favorite birds. They are so small and fast, darting among the shore just ahead of you. Braving the waves to catch tiny creatures before they burrow back in to the sand.Even in all the noise  you can hear their song as  they call to one another down the beach.

I think of these small birds, how industrious they are and I worry. They’re shore birds, their whole life happens on the beach. A beach we cover with trash and oil and never leave in peace.  I have heard people say that if animals can’t adapt then they should die out. But when I think of all the reasons that these birds could be gone, all of them point back to me.

But how do we live and allow other species to live as well. I don’t really care for most bugs but I understand the valuable service they provide the world. Why do whales matter more than spiders? I know that some species are considered “key links” and if we lose them we lose a whole chain of species. But that doesn’t explain why we will rally to save the tiger but not the raven.

What am I trying to say? Is it any better to save only the species we admire? Or should we be trying to sustain the system as a whole. It is inevitable that some creatures and plants will die out on their own but I think it is our responsibility to give them a fighting chance.

2 responses »

  1. I agree, it is our responsibility. We have no one to blame but ourselves. Here’s a quote you might find interesting:

    “The materialist-reductionist creed has had dramatic and catastrophic consequences not only for our own psycholgical and physical welfare, but for virtually every species of animals and plants and for the myriad eco-systems that sustain us all and without which life as we know it could not survive…Unless we can move away from this creed, then as a species we are very unlikely to be around much longer. The great tragedy is that in the process of destroying ourselves, we will also destroy…other forms of life, most of which have inhabited this planet for very much longer than we have, and which therefore, even by the logic of our own human laws, have a greater right to existence than we do.”

    – David Fontana, Does Mind Survive Physical Death?

Leave a Reply

