Children I once knew

Standard

I close my eyes and I see you there,

Children I once knew.

You smile back at me open, fresh, full of possibility.

I watch you grow, encourage your talent and heart,

Knowing someday these gift will bless you and others.

But today my dreams for you are shattered,

Hope has left us, here.

I struggle to understand, why I continue on and you are left behind.

I close my eyes and I see you there,

Children I once knew.

Dedicated to Tanya and Eric Valdez   2010

2 responses »

  1. This is both beautiful and very sad. I know the heartbreak it reflects. Whether its the loss of a child’s life or the sad, slow decline of one’s chances as they make painfully self destructive choices, it tears your heart out.

    • I loved all my students but these two, touched my heart. I can’t reconcile that they will never grow up and live their dreams. But I know that I was blessed to know them, even for just a season.

Leave a Reply

