Serentiy

Standard

(This is a picture of my friend Eve pool side in Costa Rica)

There was something in the air this morning when I work up, the light was brighter, the air crisper and I knew it was a yoga morning. I haven’t been practicing much due to vacation and moving  and I can really tell. I slightly pulled my back moving all those boxes and my calves have had a thing or two to say about walking up and down stairs all day.

But none of that entered my mind as a joyfully pulled on my yoga clothes and headed up stairs. There is something wonderful about having a space that is yours alone. Be it a corner in the kitchen or a whole house, knowing that the space is holy and dedicated to your worship or creativity gives it a different feeling than the rest of the house.

Walking up stairs I got a tingle thinking about how much I love yoga and how it feeds me spiritually and physically. I closed the door to the den to keep the cats meowing at a distance and began to inhabit my space.

I have been dreaming about this space for over a month; the light, how it would feel to be in it. It was hard to imagine until now how perfect it is.  I opened the window and raised the blinds, grabbed a favorite CD and began my warm up.

It is hard to describe the feel I have when I am centered in my practice. It is not like being in the “zone” when I am painting or drawing, it is more effortless than that. I feel my thoughts fall away and a great love well up from within me for myself, my body and everything. It is a place of peace and serenity that I don’t find many other places.

Today when I went into silence at the end of my practice I was filled with such joy and light. I have rarely experienced this level of openness and detachment from all my “stuff.” It was beautiful to take the morning to be with myself, honoring my body, mind and spirit.

Leave a Reply

