Poem of the Month: Change

Standard

I feel the chill air,

Rain hangs heavy on the trees.

The leaves are ablaze

As the hush of winter looms in the mountains

Like foggy clouds.

I hear the birds calling to one another,

They know that soon it will be time.

The squirrels are busy about their work

And the flowers shine, in a final blaze of glory.

I sense  a stilling in my soul,

A willingness to stop my work and watch.

Watch the world prepare for its sleep,

Watch the creatures gather and sow.

Prepare for the awakening to come.

I to prepare,

To rest from my labors,

To dream in the dark clean nights,

And awaken to a new beginning,

Rejoicing at the ability to change,

Season and soul.

Leave a Reply

