Burns, Frost & Me

Standard

Farewell to the Highlands, farewell to the North,
 The birth-place of Valour, the country of Worth;
 Wherever I wander, wherever I rove,
 The hills of the Highlands for ever I love.

 My heart's in the Highlands, my heart is not here;
 My heart's in the Highlands a-chasing the deer;
 A-chasing the wild-deer, and following the roe,
 My heart's in the Highlands wherever I go.

 Farewell to the mountains high covered with snow;
 Farewell to the straths and green valleys below;
 Farewell to the forests and wild-hanging woods;
 Farewell to the torrents and loud-pouring floods.

 My heart's in the Highlands, my heart is not here;
 My heart's in the Highlands a-chasing the deer;
 A-chasing the wild-deer, and following the roe,
 My heart's in the Highlands wherever I go.

Robert Burns


Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth.

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same.

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost

I took myself for a little exploratory trip to a lake near my home and the new camera too. It’s hard to explain how I felt walking alone in the woods; slowly watching, not making any noise but foot steps on the earth. It’s a peace that I find very few places. Suddenly, I knew how to move, where to step and when to stand still. The animals appeared, the birds flew and sang and I remembered how small I am. It was an amazing, beautiful moment.

I looked around and saw a rocky out cropping and knew that was where I wanted to be. So I made my way up until I found a path of sorts and climbed to the top. Once there the wind rustled the leaves and blew my hair. I settled down on a moss-covered rock and just soaked in the quiet.

For a moment, I felt like I was a part of it all: the wind, the moss, the trees, the deep shade all around me. I let myself forget about my obligations and my plans. I chose to be still to these master teachers, the rocks and the trees.

I am so glad that I took myself on a journey today. To use my creativity, feed my soul and remember how much I love this beautiful world I have been blessed to scamper around on. May it always be so lovely, may we always treat it with the love and respect. My I hold it in trust for those to come after me.

2 responses »

  1. Your photos are lovely. It sounds like you had an amazing day communing with nature. I love days like that.

Leave a Reply

