Off beat reality shows: Why I love Netflix

Standard

Hoarders: Season 1

The first season of this hit A&E reality series takes viewers inside the homes of hoarders: compulsive collectors who see treasure where others find trash, but whose habits have become crippling and unmanageable. With the help of therapists and professional organizers, various hoarders try to clean up their lives. But some are unwilling — or unable — to complete the process and get rid of their clutter.

Cake Boss: Season 1

Cake artist Buddy Valastro — the master baker of Carlo’s City Hall Bake Shop in Hoboken, N.J. — strives to make good on his late father’s hopes for the business while presiding over an unruly staff of family members. Food, fights and lots of love are the main ingredients in this delectable series. With his mother, sisters and brothers-in-law by his side, Buddy churns out a fire-breathing tiki cake, an edible Leaning Tower of Pisa and more.

Celebrity Rehab with Dr. Drew: Season 1

To conquer their crippling addictions, celebrities such as Brigitte Nielsen, Chyna, Daniel Baldwin and Jeff Conaway enter rehab with Dr. Drew Pinsky, who leads them through intense therapy sessions that bring up painful issues and test their will. As Jeff complains and constantly causes chaos in the group, Daniel flirts with adult film star Mary Carey, and former UFC champ Ricco Rodriguez makes plenty of enemies.

30 Days: Season 1 & 2

What better way to give people a crash course in empathy than to have them inhabit somebody else’s life for 30 days? That’s exactly what Super Size Me director and star Morgan Spurlock does on this popular FX Network show. Season 2 opens with “a border-patrolling minuteman” moving in with an undocumented Mexican family and continues with episodes on abortion, New Age healing, prisons (with Spurlock himself spending time behind bars) and more.

Eco Trip: Season 1

“Eco-adventurer,” environmentalist and extreme-sports enthusiast David de Rothschild hosts this globetrotting Sundance Channel series that investigates the effects that everyday commodities have on our planet’s health. The first season finds de Rothschild examining the life cycle of a T-shirt; the manufacture of cell phones and chocolate; the real cost of turning on a light bulb; and the business of bottling water for human consumption.

Airline: Season 1

This hit reality-TV series takes viewers behind the ticket counter, into the cockpit and beyond the airport tarmac. “Airline” chronicles the ups and downs of passengers who board Southwest flights at Los Angeles International and Chicago’s Midway Airport. You’ll get a bird’s-eye view of Southwest’s controlled chaos — from the pilots to the check-in staff and supervisors who are often on the receiving end of irate customers’ wrath.

As you can see I watch some pretty unusual shows. I like shows that say something about people and their nature not, just things we can laugh at. This is why I love about Netflix. I have the one disk unlimited, which means that I can watch as many shows as I want one disk at a time. But the bonus is I get unlimited streaming as well. Why does this matter? And why does my blog suddenly sound like an ad? Don’t worry I’m getting to that.

I’m not your average TV watcher. In fact, I can’t stand most of the “popular” shows because their just too dumb for me. I really tried in college to grasp what was so great about friends but never got it. I didn’t really like renting videos (back in the day) because you had to turn them back in and that could be such a hassle and the selection was very main stream.

Along came Netflix. What I like best is the wide variety of things that are there. I don’t have to have cable to check out an interesting mini-series or an episode of something that sounds promising. I can watch only what I want, when I want.

This freedom of content has led me to the very fun and interesting shows above. My husband and I watched all of “eco trip” and “cake boss” together. I love shows that make me think and fortunately there are lots to be found. So if your frustrated with “thoughtless” shows and entertainment. I suggest you take control of your content and find a bigger pasture. Did I mention that it is cheaper too? That’s all I’m saying.

4 responses »

  1. Just remember…for those of us who do not have access to something faster than ‘dial-up’ you cannot watch streaming video…but it is fun to get those little red envelopes through the mail every couple of days and know there is something fun inside.

  2. I miss my Netflix!!! Really. No commercials, what I want when I want, every imaginable movie and show either on my laptop or in my mailbox, variety galore, etc.

    Eco Trip sounds incredibly interesting.

Leave a Reply

