Harriet Kofalk

Standard

Awakening

in a moment of peace

I give thanks

to the source of all peace

 

as I set forth

into the day

the birds sing

with new voices

and I listen

with new ears

and give thanks

 

nearby

the flower called Angel’s Trumpet

blows

in the breeze

and I give thanks

 

My feet touch the grass

still wet with dew

and I give thanks

both to my mother earth

for sutaining my steps

and to the seas

cycling once again

to bring forth new life

 

the dewdrops

become jeweled

with the morning’s sun-fire

and I give thanks

 

you can see forever

when the vision is clear

in this moment

each moment

I give thanks

2 responses »

  1. Hello Amanda. My name is Steven Foley. I’m a poet that’s trying to track down the original source of Harriet Kofalk’s poem Awakening in a Momemt of Peace. I found the poem in Earth Prayers. However, in Earth Prayers, I couldn’t identify the original source of the poem. If you know the original source please email me. Thank you. Steven Foley. I live in Menlo Park, California. (650) 669-3125.

Leave a Reply

