Art work of the month: Phoenix

Standard

Phoenix

Graphite, sharpie

 

After I had completed the rough draft of my novel, many friends asked me if I was going to illustrate it myself.

At first I had no interest in doing s; knowing that most publishing houses have artist who work for them.

But I found myself here and there making doodles of certain aspects of the book and its characters. This Phoenix actually does not appear until the third section of the story (currently not written).

I think I was drawn to it because I love feathers and at the time I was working on improving my ability to draw fire.

I love the organic shift from the fire to solid creature in this drawing. It has become a favorite of mine.

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

