New Years Resolutions

Standard

When I think back about all the resolutions I have made over the years it is almost laughable to recall simple selfish ones like: weight loss, pet projects, home improvements and the like. When I think about the year to come those things don’t seem so important or dire. Instead my thoughts turn to how I want to “feel” in the coming year or who I want to “be.” These things seem to rank so much higher on the important list than meeting some societal self-imposed ideal of myself.

So who do I want to be? And how do I want to feel? Good questions, not so easy answers. I want to be the person who loves what they do, is a blessing to others and knows that each day they are doing something that makes the world a little better. I want to be the kind of person who truly loves them-self, not just on the good days but every day. I want to be the kind of person who believes in their dreams enough that they are not easily discouraged. I want to be the kind of person who believes they deserve to be loved just the way they are.

I want to feel healthier: in my mind, body and spirit. I want to trust myself and let that confidence radiate through all I do. I want to let go of the fear that keeps me from expressing how much I love the people in my life. I want such a deep connection with my faith that it is not shaken when my life is.  I want to pursue those things that make me feel alive and vibrant. I want to be okay with me just the way I am and surround myself with people who affirm this in my life.

And all this means….What? I want less fear and more love. The older I get these are the two gifts I ask of myself and others. They have become a guiding light when I think about why I am choosing to do something or am letting something happen in my life. Even if I cannot control the situations in my life, I can control how I choose to react to things, if I stay in hurtful situations and if I demand respect for myself. I have not totally learned these lessons but I know that with each year that passes I get stronger and I love myself more.

So this is my hope foe 2011:

I see myself at peace: with my relationships, my career and my understanding of God and my relationship to Him.

I see myself open to: creativity, change, love and my own power and magnificence.

I see myself as the child of light that I was created to be.

Namaste, so be it.

4 responses »

  1. So be it! You are so incredible and such an inspiration to me. I’m so glad to have you as my friend.

Leave a Reply

