Caspar David Friedrich a German

Standard

I saw this picture “The Wanderer Above the Sea of Fog, c.1818” today when I opened my email- I get a picture of the day- and it was so inspiring. I don’t know if it is the lone figure or the majestic landscape but there is something about it that I love. The artist is Caspar David Friedrich a German romantic painter.

When I looked him up I realized that one of my favorite paintings from college is also by him. “Abbey in Eichwald (monk funeral in oak).” I was moved by the story of its destruction during a bombing and how it only exists now in images. Hope you like it too.

One response »

Leave a Reply

