I have been loved

Standard

When I was a child,

You were the first man to love me,

Protect me, tuck me in

And I never doubted that love.

 

When I was a young girl,

You treated me like I was a person

And not just your friend’s little sister.

You made me feel valuable in a way I did know I could be.

 

When I was a young woman,

Your sweetness stole my heart.

I believed and let myself know  the joy of first love

And the crushing absence of it as well.

 

As I stepped into womanhood,

Uncertain of who I was and what I wanted.

You dared to love me.

We hurt each other and learned.

 

Along the path,

You held a unbrella at a bus stop,

Treated me with value and held me in your arms

Wanting nothing more than to show me you were not like them.

 

Now I stand choosing again.

I will remember the times you loved me

Unselfishly, deeply and openly.

I will not hold to the hurt and claim it

As your way.

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

