Question of the week: 3-24

Standard

Do you “like” your job/ work? I get asked this all the time. I think its like the “how are you doing?”  question that is socially polite but the answer is not really listened to and if you say anything other than find you get a weird look.

So my question for this week is- What does your job do for you?

For example my job fills 8 hrs of my day and provides me with the means to be good to the people I live with and love on myself which right now is a must.

So.. tell me all about it.

4 responses »

  1. I think this is a very good question, and answering it is not as easy as I’d hoped.
    I like aspects of my job. I like interacting with people. I like helping with situations where my knowledge and expertise is beneficial and appreciated. I like my coworkers and my boss.
    But there are a number of things I dislike about my job as well. I don’t like being tied to a computer and phone all day long. I dislike being stationary at a desk. Sometimes I dislike the dresscode. And of course the few who do not appreciate me or my profession, and go to lengths to make it known.
    My job provides me with a sense of community, with financial means to live the life I have and strive toward the life I want, and occasionally makes me feel good about myself. It is not the perfect job, but I am thankful for it.

  2. Hi Amanda, you have probably gathered by now that I teach piano for a living. I totally love what I do, it’s not just the job but the people I come into contact with – all my students bring something new to the table and each lesson is a learning experience for both myself and the student.
    I love to see them grow in confidence and enjoy music. Lessons are rewarding and sometimes a little revealing because someone may be so comfortable with me (which is great) that they blurt something out that I wasn’t expecting! So I’m a sort-of counseller too although I try not to get involved in personal situations.
    For over 20 years I worked in offices and it just wasn’t me. I took the plunge some years ago to go back into education and I worked really hard to get some qualifications behind me in order to become self-employed. I’ve never looked back. It’s a very uncertain path I tread but I get through every day and know in my heart of hearts this is the way I want it to continue.
    So my job allows me to be myself. It allows me to enjoy my passion for music. It allows me to teach others to be passionate about music. It allows me freedom and time to persue other interests such as writing. It creates time with my family but most of all I am in complete control of how I spend each day.

Leave a Reply

