Question of the week: 4-15-11

Standard

Ever stood back from your life and realized you where over-doing it somehow?

The past six moths of my life has had me asking a lot of introspective questions but this one is a little more practical. I don’t like that I don’t have much free or down time. I hate that I have a stressful job and I feel like I wast my time de-stressing and then find I don’t have much time left in the day to do the things I like to do (like blogg!).

So how do we go about doing what we must but evaluating the rest to see where the spaces are? For me I have traded a half an hour in the morning that was devoted to exercise (630-7) to a quiet time. This makes me so much happier and ready for the crazy day. I still do the exercise from 7-745 but I don’t feel cheated of the other meaningful things in my life. I try on the weekends to do things I really love like being outside or seeing friends.

So…What do you do when you realize there is some re-arranging to do with your priories?

5 responses »

  1. I make lists and schedules, trying to find a way to rearrange my time so that the things I love aren’t left by the wayside as I take care of the things I have to do. It doesn’t always work, but it helps me come to terms with things and often find a way to keep myself on track. Although, I suck majorly at actually sticking to those schedules. At least, if I know that the time can be made, I can then blame no one but myself if I don’t do those things!

  2. take a long hot bath, with wine and candles and peaceful music. Soak out the stress, and soak up the relaxation. It really helps to clarify things.

  3. I agree with Evie and I also make lists. Each evening I write a list for the following day of all the things I intend to achieve. I sort of have two lists, a ‘to do’ list and a ‘to do later’ list – that helps me separate essential from non-urgent tasks and stops me worrying if I don’t complete everything.

    I think life is all about balance and in my life no two weeks are ever the same so that means constantly assessing where my priorities are, the lists help a lot.

    ‘Me time’ is very important, everybody should try and find some, even if it is in the bath at the end of a very long day. I also agree with Christina’s methods and often do the same.

    • All of you had such great suggestions. I think the main problems for me is that I have trouble saying “no” to people and good causes but then i get resentful and have no one to blame but me. I am working on saying no and making my own plans but its hard when I think I have disappointed people or let them down/

  4. Amanda, I have found that testing requests against my priority list helps weed out options. It can be hard to say no to something good, but you have to remember that by saying no to something good, you are saying yes to something better.

Leave a Reply

